The urgent comfort

I escaped a premature demise
into shop floors and sensible shoes
through the articulation of words
that touch nerves and hearts

from boredom and bedroom
hated and maligned, unnaturally
I carved a hole in my wall
to spy upon the world

for it takes an unusual skill
to manipulate a limited lexicon
to make full-set men weep
and children bury their faces

and for your pleasure I ask little
sustenance enough to keep my eyes open
a potted aspidistra on my sill
the urgent comfort of the empty page

Tagged

3 thoughts on “The urgent comfort

Leave a Reply

